Swimming Figures Take a Dip

Watching the BBC news and Sport England have just announced a major drop in numbers of people regularly swimming……..Surely it can only be a co-incidence that since the Solent Seven have taken to the pools everyone else has opted out??? If there are 245,000 less people now swimming regularly, how come there’s always someone in my lane when I go to the pool?

I had a great swim today in an almost empty pool (Maybe they are right then) and turned in my 25,000th metre since Jan 4th. I’m really pleased with that. I’ve managed to drop into a really good rhythm now and am finding that trying less actually seems to give much better results. It’s a bit like when I used to play golf. When I stopped trying to whack the ball into the start of next week and slowed my swing down, it all started going much better. I’ve watched a few Keri-anne Payne videos on youtube, (funny what you find when your not even looking for it) and she seems to nip along without giving the appearance of wrestling with a crocodile underwater like most of the people at my pool. I guess that’s why she’s the 10km open water champion and a Silver Olympic Medalist then.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfX2OoPZVBc

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 13.28.01

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

