Only 15,000 on the clock

Today, I clocked up my 15,000th metre in the pool since we got our swim places confirmed. I just love metres as they always sound so much better than miles (9.32 miles).Thinking back on our original beer fuelled idea to swim the channel, I’d only be about a 1/3rd of the way over with another 10 hours to go. That’s not so great then is it, but never mind, small steps. My glass is always half full so in terms of distance to date I could have done the swim over to the IOW 7 times by now.

I can confirm that the new Sport England campaign This Girl Can is working. The pool was fairly busy today with lots of faces I’ve never seen before and whilst it’s a little bit trickier with ladies sedately breast-stroking in the fast lane, I say a big thank you to Sport England. I hear you asking why, so let me tell you.

Tuesdays and Thursdays at my pool is what I affectionately call Happy Grannies although I think the official time table calls it Aquafit. At 2 minutes to 12 the lifeguards close down 1 lane and then on the stroke of 12 the pool is full of senior ladies (and some gentlemen) jumping around to Abba or Saturday Night Fever. They absolutely love it, but I always try and make a sharp exit. Today however, thanks to the Girls That Can I still had 6 lengths to go so decided to grind it out and pray that my earplugs had acoustic qualities as well. 1st track on today – Flashdance…What a feeling – Irene Cara. What a brilliant track and how appropriate for the forthcoming challenge

“First when there’s nothing but a slow glowing dream that your fear seems to hide deep inside your mind” a sentiment then driven home with “Take your Passion and make it happen” I was so inspired I did an extra 10 lengths!!

Girls That Do, even if it’s very slowly, Thank You.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atrqRDgEhsY

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 10.37.06

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

